Podtime Sleeping Pod Like Niven's Napcap

The Podtime Sleeping Pod is the answer to the question everyone asks sooner or later: where can I go to get a quick snooze?


(Podtime sleeping pod video)

Our designers have blended comfort and practicality with privacy and security. The standard pod is 1375 +VAT and delivery, though this reduces for multiples. We offer an enhanced version priced according to the options selected. Open ventilation at each end means every pod has good air circulation and a fresh and roomy feel inside. The doors are available in tinted, frosted or solid finish, and are lockable to keep your things safe whilst you relax. The central tube is practically indestructible polycarbonate, and the end pieces are heavy duty rotationally molded plastic.

The stock model comes with either a quality, fitted vinyl covered foam mattress or a standard single mattress, and has the following features as standard:

  • Choice of door colour
  • Storage shelf
  • Storage rack
  • Mirror
  • LED lights
  • Power points

You can get your own Podtime Sleeping Pod for just $2,150.

Fans of Larry Niven and Steve Barnes' 2000 novel Saturn's Race recognize the Podtime Sleeping Pod immediately - it's a Napcap capsule!

Fatigue bent her like decades, and she was overjoyed to see the blinking yellow sign of a Napcap rental facility.

She punched her card into the Napcap's slot. The lid lifted and she crawled inside. It shooshed down. The inside received her as a womb. The prospect of rest triggered an avalanche of yawns, and she was asleep before the lid sealed fully back in place. (Read more about Niven and Barnes' Napcap capsule)

Order your own Sleeping Pod at Podtime UK.

Scroll down for more stories in the same category. (Story submitted 8/15/2012)

Follow this kind of news @Technovelgy.

| Email | RSS | Blog It | Stumble | del.icio.us | Digg | Reddit |

Would you like to contribute a story tip? It's easy:
Get the URL of the story, and the related sf author, and add it here.

Comment/Join discussion ( 0 )

Related News Stories - (" Lifestyle ")

The Sheep Look Up In Beijing
'The hungry sheep look up, and are not fed...' - John Brunner, 1972.

You Can't Lose The Travelmate Autonomous Suitcase - It Follows You
'...follow him as faithfully as a well-trained hound.' - John Brunner, 1975.

Double Charging Textile Obviates Clunky Dune Stillsuit Boots
'... the action of the heel-powered pumps that drove his still suit.' - Frank Herbert, 1969.

Skin Chair For That 'Sitting On A Fat Guy' Feeling
'The semi-sentient artifact glided to a position behind McKie...' -Frank Herbert, 1964.

 

Google
  Web TechNovelgy.com   

Technovelgy (that's tech-novel-gee!) is devoted to the creative science inventions and ideas of sf authors. Look for the Invention Category that interests you, the Glossary, the Invention Timeline, or see what's New.

 

 

 

 

 

Current News

Cormorant Flying Car
'The cab came floating down out of the sky...'

ElliQ Robot To Help Israel's Grandmas And Grandpas
'The robant and the tiny old woman entered the control room slowly...'

EU Debates Kill Switches For Robots
'I have a mechanism which our autofac on Mars builds as an... emergency safety...'

Scotland Set To Implement Basic Income
'Earned by just being born.'

Sales Robots More Persistent Than Humans
'Robot-salesmen were everywhere, gesturing,,, shrilling...'

AI Identifies Suicidal Behavior With 93 Percent Accuracy
'...He padded into the living room, and seated himself by the suitcase; he opened it, clicked switches, and turned on Dr. Smile.'

Razer Project Valerie Laptop Unfurls
'A paper thin polycarbon screen unfurled silently...'

Can Virtual Reality help People Cope With Pain?
Research is promising.

Dust Movement On The Moon, Saturn's Rings Solved
'...The dust normally on the surface picks up and keeps a charge.'

Largest Micro-Drone Swarm Release Successful
'... Programmed to hang in space in a hexagonal grid pattern.'

Robot Motion Planning 10K Times Faster
'The robot crab... fired a burst of light, then froze...'

Reconfigured Graphene 10X Strong, 5 Percent Dense, As Steel
'...It was made of Alohydrolium, which is the lightest of all metals.'

Axiom - The World's First Private Space Station?
'So Webb Foster had built his space laboratory... It was a great crystal sphere, a thousand feet in diameter.'

DataTraveler Ultimate Generation 2 Terabyte Flashdrive
'A man or woman could carry AIs or complete planetary data spheres...'

HyperFace Aims To Foil Facial Recognition
'...A million and a half physiognomic fraction-representations of various people.'

MIT's aeroMorph Technology
'... It falls into that structure like a rubber figure returning to shape.'

More SF in the News Stories

More Beyond Technovelgy science news stories

Home | Glossary | Invention Timeline | Category | New | Contact Us | FAQ | Advertise |
Technovelgy.com - where science meets fiction™

Copyright© Technovelgy LLC; all rights reserved.