Jack Vance
Books and Stories

Jack Vance was born in California in 1916 (d. 2013), published his first story in 1945. Vance's work defies easy description; his highly literate style is not what most science fiction readers expect. His work has won many awards, including two Hugos, a Nebula, the World Fantasy Award, an Edgar (for mystery) and the SFWA Grandmaster award for his lifetime of work.

(From Jack Vance)

In an unusual tribute to Vance, his entire output of stories and novels is being collected in the Vance Integral Edition, a volunteer effort by hundreds of fans.Select a novel or story title to see the inventions from that work:

Abercrombie Station, Thrilling Wonder Stories, 1952

Big Planet, Startling Stories, 1952

Sail 25, Not Available, 1962

The Anome, Dell, 1971

The Dragon Masters, Galaxy, 1962

The Face, DAW, 1979

The Five Gold Bands, Startling Stories, 1950

The Houses of Iszm, Better Publications, 1954

The Howling Bounders, Startling Stories, 1949

The Killing Machine, Fantastic Fiction (?), 1964

The Kokod Warriors, Thrilling Wonder Stories, 1952

The Last Castle, Del Rey, 1967

The Moon Moth, Pocket Books, 1976

The Star King, Berkeley, 1964

The Sub-Standard Sardines, Startling Stories, 1949

To Live Forever, Not known, 1956

Worlds of Origin, Super-Science Fiction, 1958






Science Fiction in the News:

Russians Think US Is Weaponizing Asteroids (11/29/2023)

The Warp And Fabric Of Spacetime (11/27/2023)

'Birds Aren't Real' An NPR Gen-Z Conspiracy (11/25/2023)

Wearable Energy Harvester (11/23/2023)

Drones Participate In Buddhist Rites (11/21/2023)

Anna Indiana AI Singer-Songwriter (11/19/2023)

Video Manicuring ala Schismatrix (11/17/2023)

'Feel the AGI' OpenAI Leader Now OpenWorship (11/15/2023)

NASA Tests Prototype Europa Lander (11/13/2023)

Tailsitter Drone Aircraft For SAR (11/11/2023)




Home | Glossary | Invention Timeline | Category | New | Contact Us | FAQ | Advertise |
Technovelgy.com - where science meets fiction™

Copyright© Technovelgy LLC; all rights reserved.